Certified Insurance Service Representative

​​​​​​​​​The CISR program stresses the understanding and analysis of risks and exposures. Designed for producers, CSR's, account executives and other insurance professionals, the CISR program fills the need for quality insurance education and training.

Each course is one day of instruction followed by an optional examination (no exam required for CE credit). The successful completion of five of the nine course examinations earns the CISR designation.

To maintain the designation, particpants must annually attend at least one program sanctioned by The National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research​. No testing is required to maintain the designation.


The Next Step: CISR Elite

As a CISR, you already know the value of an ongoing commitment to professionalism. To earn CISR Elite status, you must attend and pass all nine CISR courses. You already keep your education up-to-date by meeting your annual update requirement. Why not earn CISR Elite status in the process?




CISR Update Requirement

Once you attain the CISR designation and experience the career fulfillment that comes along with it, you will want to make sure your knowledge and expertise stay up to date. A commitment to annual continuing education makes that possible.

To maintain the CISR designation, you are required to complete one of the following skills-enriching courses every year:

    • Any CISR course
    • William T Hold seminar
    • Dynamics of Service seminar
    • CIC Institute**(updates CISR for 2 years)

Consult your My Page for your update deadline.


All CISR can also be taken self-paced ​online. You have 60 days to complete the course. Testing and Proctor are required.

2018 CISR Calendar​

View/ register for upcoming courses on our online calendar

Download CISR information sheet, including course descriptions​


Download CISR Registration form


South Carolina CSR of the Year Award

Do you know an outstanding Customer Service Rep? Nominate them for the SC CSR of the Year. They are not required to hold or be pursuing the CISR designation to be eligible. Deadline May 1. 

Learn more