Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Mt. Pleasant insurance executive named IIABSC 2015 Agent of the Year

(view printable version​)

Columbia, SC –  Kathy D. McKay, CIC, CPIW, CRM, of McKay Insurance in Mount Pleasant was named the 2015 Hayne P. Glover, Jr. Agent of the Year by the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of SC (IIABSC) in recognition for outstanding community service and contributing to the betterment of the insurance industry.

Kathy started in the insurance business at an early age and more than twenty years ago she purchased the agency she was working in. Throughout her career, Kathy has made it a point to stay active in the insurance industry on the state and local levels, serving on boards and participating in organizations including:

  • IIABSC, Director, Secretary and Chairman of the Board
  • SC Association of Insurance Women, state director
  • Professional Insurance Agents of SC, Board of Directors
  • IIAB of Charleston, Board member and President
  • SC Continuing Education Advisory Board, Secretary
  • National Alliance of Insurance Education Board of Governors

Two of Kathy's main goals in the industry are to attract young agents into the field of insurance and educate agents of all ages to better themselves. She instructs classes as a certified instructor for the National Alliance of Insurance Education. She also appears on several local TV and radio stations and in the Charleston newspaper when called upon to educate the community on insurance.

Kathy supports community groups in the Lowcountry including the American Cancer Society Relay for Life, The Charleston Museum, My Sisters House, The American Red Cross, MUSC Children's Hospital and The Charleston Preservation Society.

The Agent of the Year is named for Hayne P. Glover, Jr. to honor his many years of dedicated service to the Big "I" state and national associations. Glover was from Greenville and is the only South Carolinian so far to serve as the national association president. Glover was an outstanding example of service to his community as well as the industry, which are the criteria used to evaluate nominees for this award. The award is sponsored by AFCO/ Prime Rate Premium Finance in Florence.

IIABSC, with statewide membership of approximately 400 insurance agencies and branch offices, is the state’s oldest and largest association of property and casualty insurance agents. Known to consumers as Trusted Choice® agents, members agree to adhere to a Pledge of Performance, designed to assure quality service that enables them to offer competitive pricing, broad choice of products and valuable advocacy. Learn more on our consumer website,​.











Kathy D. McKay, CIC, CPIW, CRM, of McKay Insurance in Mt. Pleasant is the 2015 Hayne P. Glover, Jr. Agent of the Year
Kathy D. McKay of McKay Insurance was named the IIABSC 2015 Hayne P. Glover, Jr. Agent of the Year. Pictured with IIABSC Chairman of the Board Ken Finch (right) and Gary Cornell (left) with event sponsor AFCO/ Prime Rate Premium Finance.