Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Midlands insurance executive elected Chairman of Board of statewide property and casualty independent agents association

​(download printable v​ersion​​)

Columbia, SC –  R. Scott Moseley, of Irmo Insurance in Irmo, SC, was elected Chairman of the Board by the general membership of the Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of SC (IIABSC) earlier this month during its annual convention on Hilton Head Island, SC.

Scott is President of Irmo Insurance, a family-owned independent agency in the Midlands that has been in business for nearly 40 years. He has been in the insurance business for close to 25 years. In addition to South Carolina, he also has his insurance license in several other states. He was first elected to the association’s board in 2004.  

Also elected to the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors was Thomas M. Bates, Jr., of Herlong Bates Burnett in Greenville to the position of Chairman-Elect and James G. Taylor, Jr., of Kinghorn Insurance Agency of Beaufort to the position of Secretary. Ken Finch, CPCU, CIC, CRM, AAI, of Adams Eaddy & Associates in Columbia moves to the position of Immediate Past Chairman. All terms begin Jan. 1, 2016.

Three new directors were also elected to three-year terms beginning Jan. 1: William C. Carter, CIC of Pinckney-Carter Company in Charleston, Carrie Johnson, ChFC, CLU, AAI, of Carrie Johnson Insurance in Murrell's Inlet and Robert E. Nalley of Creech Roddey Watson Insurance in Sumter.  Robert W. Hammett, AIP, of CWS Insurance in Spartanburg was elected to a one-year term to fill the remaining portion of Jay Taylor's term.

IIABSC, with statewide membership of approximately 400 insurance agencies and branch office, is the state’s oldest and largest association of property and casualty insurance agents. Known to consumers as Trusted Choice® agents, members agree to adhere to a Pledge of Performance, designed to assure quality service that enables them to offer competitive pricing, broad choice of products and valuable advocacy.



2016 IIABSC Board of Directors 

 L to R: Ashley Brady, CIC, First Charter Company; Robbie Nalley, Creech Roddy Watson Insurance; Jay Taylor,Jr., CIC of Kinghorn Insurance Agency of Beaufort; Scott Moseley, Irmo Insurance Agency; Andrew Muller, CIC, AAI, CWCC, PRIS, Mappus Insurance Agency; Carrie Johnson, ChFC, CLU, AAI, Carrie Johnson Insurance; Jules Anderson, AAI, Anderson Insurance Associates; Ken Finch, CPCU, CIC, CRM, AAI, Adams, Eaddy & Associates; Ben Galloway, Peoples First Insurance; Teresa Yount, CPCU, CIC, CRM, AINS, CPIW, Correll Insurance Group; Tom Bates, Jr., Herlong Bates Burnett Insurance; Tonya Thomason, CIC, David A Crotts & Associates; Gus Brabham, IV, CIC, Regions Insurance; Cooper Carter, CIC, Pinckney-Carter Company; Rob Hammett, AIP, CWS Insurance.


Scott Moseley,
IIABSC Chairman of the Board,

IIABSC Immediate Past President Ken Finch (right) passes the gavel to new IIABSC Chairman of the Board Scott Moseley (left).
Immediate Past Chairman of the Board Ken Finch (right) passes the gavel to new Chairman of the Board Scott Moseley.